Return to Headlines

OKCPS Announces Site Teachers of the Year for 2022-2023

November 17, 2022


(Oklahoma City) - Oklahoma City Public Schools (OKCPS) and the OKCPS Foundation announced the teacher of the year recipient for each of our school sites. From this list of outstanding educators, a selection committee will select nine finalists for the OKCPS District Teacher of the Year that will be announced at the Stars of Education event in May of 2023. 


“I believe our district has the very best teachers in the state and I know it was difficult to select only one teacher from each school. Each day, we see our teachers choosing to put OKCPS students and families first and we know the work they do is commendable,”  Dr. Sean McDaniel, Superintendent of OKCPS said. “I first want to recognize all of our teachers, districtwide, and call out the invaluable work they put in with our kids each day. On behalf of the district, please join me in congratulating the teachers selected at each school site 2022-2023 OKCPS Site Teachers of the Year! We are grateful for you.”


“All of our teachers are amazing. We are proud to partner with OKCPS to recognize the incredible teachers in our school district who were selected as Site Teachers of the Year for their school building. These exceptional teachers have shown extraordinary dedication and commitment to the students they serve every day. This is a high honor and worthy of recognition,” Mary Mélon-Tully, President & CEO of the OKCPS Foundation added.


 2022-2023 Site Teachers of the Year



Subject Area or Grade(s) Taught

School Site

Sarah Williams

4th grade teacher

Adams ES

Carmen Gallegos

1st grade teacher

Adelaide Lee ES

Delsy Breedlove

ELL teacher (1st - 2nd grade)

Arthur ES

Carrie Helm

Seven Habits & Leadership (6th - 8th grade )

Belle Isle MS

Yendri Longoria

1st grade teacher & math lead

Bodine ES

Tranisha Perry

2nd grade teacher

Britton ES

Misty Halberg

PreK teacher

Buchanan ES

Ruth Haynes

Career Tech teacher (9th - 12th grade)

Capitol Hill HS

Alan Blount

PE teacher (5th - 8th grades)

Capitol Hill MS

Tiffany Hoag (Hill)

3rd grade teacher

Cesar Chavez ES

Carsen Moon

Math teacher

Classen SAS HS

Lauren Himmelberg

Math teacher (7th grade)

Classen SAS MS

Kristina Haden

Art (K - 4th grade)

Cleveland ES

Dana Wendling

1st Grade teacher

Coolidge ES

Delphia Hughes

Algebra II (11th grade)

Douglass HS

Kevin Woodruff

Regular Education teacher (6th - 12th Grade)


Emmitt Brazille

US History & Civics teacher

Emerson North HS

Ella Tharp

ELA teacher (9th - 12th grade)

Emerson South HS

Katelyn Kordic

4th grade teacher

Esperanza ES

Nayeli Coronado

PreK teacher

Eugene Field ES

Danielle Pack

1st grade teacher

Fillmore ES

Tiffany Kozikoski

AVID (9th - 10th grade)

Grant HS

Laura Grotheer

1st grade teacher

Hawthorne ES

Yessenia Medina

2nd grade teacher

Hayes ES

Itzel Torres

3rd grade teacher

Heronville ES

Mitsy Shaklee

PE teacher / coach

Hillcrest ES

Kathleen Crawford

SPED teacher (5th - 8th grade)

Jefferson MS

Justine Ritter

SPED, English (9th - 11th grade)

John Marshall HS

Kimberly Campbell

Dance teacher (5th - 8th grade)

John Marshall MS

Emily Riley

1st grade teacher

Kaiser ES

Shelly Michael

3rd grade teacher

Mark Twain ES

Linda Brooks

Math teacher (7th grade)

Mary Golda Ross MS

Kori Long

Visual Art teacher (PK - 4th grade)


Shino Yeager

1st grade teacher

Monroe ES

Felix Linden

ELA teacher (8th grade)

Moon MS

Michelle Brooks

Kindergarten teacher

Nichols Hills ES

Brianna Frazier

Biomedical Science teacher (9th - 12th grade)

Northwest Classen HS

Destiny Julye

1st grade teacher 

Parks ES

Linda Pinon

Kindergarten teacher

Prairie Queen ES

Sara George

PK & Kindergarten teacher

Pre-K Center - Horace Mann

Melanie Maguire

PK teacher

Pre-K Center - Johnson

Charles Eaton

History teacher (8th & 9th grade)

Putnam Heights Academy HS

Anchika Clark-Davis

3rd grade teacher

Quail Creek ES

Kimberly Edwards

Kindergarten teacher

Ridgeview ES

Jessica Garrett

Lead PK teacher

Rockwood ES

Terrance Green

SPED Exceptional ED teacher (5th - 6th grade)

Rogers MS

Justin Stier

Art teacher

Roosevelt MS

Faisal Madni

PE teacher

Shidler ES

Sherry Dew

U.S. History teacher (11th grade)

Southeast HS

Passion Bradley

STEM teacher (6th - 8th grade)

Southeast MS

Keely Lopez

Music teacher

Southern Hills ES

Morganne Garcia

Music teacher (2nd - 4th grade)

Spencer ES

Lance Cudjoe

Social Studies teacher (11th grade)

Star Spencer Mid-High

Judith Huerta Morfin

ELD teacher

Taft MS

Jordan Brown

2nd grade teacher

Van Buren ES

Monique Tye

AVID  (6th - 8th grade)

Webster MS

Lisa Ummel-Ingram

ELA teacher and ELA dept chair (6th grade)

Wheeler MS

Danita Ramsey

ID teacher (PK - 1st grade)

Willow Brook ES

Debbie Patry

3rd grade teacher

Wilson ES